UB NCGIA


Contact Us     NCGIA Home | IGERT Program Home | University at Buffalo


Apply IGERT
Apply Certificate
For Current Fellows

People:
Program Faculty
Administration
Fellows
Advisory Board

Research:
Facilities
Original NSF Proposal
Other IGERT programs

Contact the NCGIA
Directions to NCGIA

Site Map


UB IGERT Faculty
Integrative Geographic Information Science Doctoral Program
National Center for Geographic Information and Analysis
State University of New York at Buffalo

Integrating Education, Research and Training

1999-2004 Faculty Program Participants
Click here to go to NEW Buffalo IGERT in GI Science website.
Joseph F. Atkinson
Professor of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering
Email: atkinson@acsu.buffalo.edu
Website: http://www.csee.buffalo.edu/professors_atkinson.shtml

Interests: environmental fluid mechanics, water quality modeling, sediment transport, lake hydrodynamics



Rajan Batta
Professor, Chair of Industrial Engineering
Email: batta@buffalo.edu
Website: www.acsu.buffalo.edu/~batta
Interests: applied operations research with applications in transportation and production systems



Ling Bian
Associate Professor of Geography
Email: lbian@geog.buffalo.edu
Website: http://www.geog.buffalo.edu/~lbian/
Interests: gis, remote sensing, quantitive analysis and spatial modeling, physical geography



Ann Bisantz
Assistant Professor of Industrial Engineering
Email: bisantz@acsu.buffalo.edu
Website: http://www.eng.buffalo.edu/%7Ebisantz/home.html
Interests: Human factors: cognitive engineering, human decision making, and system design



Robert Casati
Research Professor of Philosophy
Email: casati@ext.jussieu.fr
Website: http://roberto.casati.free.fr/casati/roberto.htm
Interests: researcher in philosophy and the cognitive sciences, conceptual structures (linguistic and perceptual of space and time).



Jan Chomicki
Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering
Email: chomicki@acsu.buffalo.edu
Website: http://www.cse.buffalo.edu/~chomicki
Interests:



Meghan Cope
Associate Professor of Geography
Email: mcope@geog.buffalo.edu
Website: http://www.geog.buffalo.edu/~mcope
Interests: Urban, economic and social geography, with focus upon gender and ethnicity. Social theory perspectives on geographic information.



Randall Dipert
C.S. Peirce Professor of American Philosophy
Email: rdipert@acsu.buffalo.edu
Website: http://wings.buffalo.edu/philosophy/faculty.html#Dipert
Interests:



D. Munroe Eagles
Associate Professor of Political Science
Email: eagles@acsu.buffalo.edu
Website: http://www.polsci.buffalo.edu/faculty_and_research/dme.html
Interests: adjunct associate professor of geography, spatial and contextual models of political behavior



Douglas Flewelling
Assistant Professor of Geography
Email: dougf@geog.buffalo.edu
Website: http://www.geog.buffalo.edu/~dougf
Interests: Geographic information systems engineering, spatial reasoning, multi-source spatial data integration, spatial data mining



Charles Frake
Professor of Anthropology
Email: frake@acsu.buffalo.edu
Website: http://wings.buffalo.edu/anthropology/Faculty/frake.htm
Interests: Linguistic anthropology, cultural ecology, cognitive anthropology; Southeast Asia, Philippines, Europe



Igor Jankovic
Assistant Professor of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering
Email: ijankovi@eng.buffalo.edu
Website: http://www.csee/professors_jankovic.shtml
Interests: Groundwater Flow Modeling, Contaminant Transportation Groundwater,
Inverse Modeling, Fluid Mechanics



Chris Larsen
Associate Professor of Geography
Email: larsen@acsu.buffalo.edu
Website: http://www.geog.buffalo.edu/~larsen/
Interests: Landscape ecology, vegetation dynamics, fire, tree-ring analysis, fossil pollen analysis



David M Mark
Professor of Geography
Email: dmark@geog.buffalo.edu
Website: http://www.geog.buffalo.edu/~dmark/
Interests: director of NCGIA Buffalo, gis, cognitive science



Sarunas Milisauskas
Professor of Anthropology
Email: smilis@acsu.buffalo.edu
Website: http://anthropology.buffalo.edu/Faculty/milisauskas.htm
Interests: Old World archaeology, European prehistory; neolithic, Bronze Age



Alan Rabideau
Associate Professor of Civil, Structural, and Environmental Engineering
Email: rabideau@eng.buffalo.edu
Website: http://www.buffalo.edu/rabideau
Interests: groundwater modeling and remediation, risk assessment



Peter Rogerson
Professor of Geography
Email: rogerson@geog.buffalo.edu
Website: http://www.acsu.buffalo.edu/~rogerson/
Interests: undergraduate studies director, dynamic migration modeling, demographic forecasting, mathematical modeling



Christopher M Rump
Assistant Professor of Industrial Engineering
Interests: operations research, probability modeling, queueing design and control with application to communication, traffic and manufacturing systems



Stuart C Shapiro
Professor of Computer Science & Engineering
Email: shapiro@eng.buffalo.edu
Website: http://www.cse.buffalo.edu/faculty/shapiro/
Interests: knowledge representation, reasoning, natural language processing, autonomous agents



Barry Smith
Professor of Philosophy
Email: phismith@acsu.buffalo.edu
Website: http://wings.buffalo.edu/philosophy/faculty/smith/
Interests: ontology



Jean-Claude Thill
Professor of Geography
Email: jcthill@geog.buffalo.edu
Website: http://www.geog.buffalo.edu/~jcthill/
Interests: transportation, location analysis, retail, modeling



Aidong Zhang
Professor of Computer Science & Engineering
Email: azhang@acsu.buffalo.edu
Website: http://www.cse.buffalo.edu/faculty/azhang/
Interests:



Ezra B Zubrow
Professor of Anthropology
Email: zubrow@acsu.buffalo.edu
Website: http://wings.buffalo.edu/academic/department/anthropology/Faculty/zubrow.htm
Interests: demographic, ecological and anthropological issues




Copyright © 2000 John Kavanagh, NCGIA